A bowling alley with four automatic lanes was opened on November 29, 1974. At that time it was the most modern bowling alley in Karlovac County. Nikola Dragaš, who was a World Champion at that time, opened a bowling alley. Bowling was a favourite kind of sport and a recreational activity so the game time should have been booked beforehand. Since then the bowling alley has gone through several partial DSC_0010reconstructions, the lanes were asphaltic at the very beginning, later they became plastic, the machines were replaced and in 2008 the old bowling alley was destroyed completely and the official ceremony on opening of new VOLLMER bowling lanes was held on April 26, 2008. The bowling alley has a license, so national tournaments can be held and are held there.
The bowling alley is a parent bowling alley for the male club KUPA from Podbrežje-Ozalj. The female bowling club KUPA from Karlovac since its foundation arranges its training and national bowling tournaments in our bowling alley. The Bowling School functions under the umbrella of the male club KUPA involving ten pupils and the club occasionally arranges bowling tournaments to promote bowling sport as much as possible. Traditionally, at the end of the bowling season the international memorial night tournament is organized under UV lights Zvonimir Pavlaković, as well as the New Year’s tournament called Nostalgia, involving 200 players instead of 120.
Zvonimir Pavlaković had played bowling recreationally and competed for the KK KUPA if necessary. His son Damir continued his father’s way playing bowling for the club KUPA, providing training sessions, judging bowling tournaments and heading the Bowling School for young generation. The third generation of the family Pavlaković remains true bowlers. Damir’s daughters Nikolina and Valentina started playing bowling when they were children. With talent and regular training they became the members of the Croatian national team and had been bowling for the national team at the World Championships (Rijeka-2010, Sarajevo-2011, Zalaegerszeg- 2013, and Brno-2014).